Audi A1 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 105 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, fitted the TMC to my car yesterday and did about 50miles. The following are my first I impressions, bear in mind that my car only has 450 miles on the clock so I'm not about to rag the engine and it was quite wet yesterday.

Fitting - I've done a little bit of fitting add-ons before but I am no mechanic. Bit nerve racking but was actually very easy, took about 15 minutes.

Driving impressions

Positive - much more pull, especially in higher gears, less need to change down. Car much more eager.

Neutral - more noticeable lag on the turbo, but I actually quite like the slightly old school turbo kicking in feel.

Negative - not 100% smooth, little jerky on the throttle.

Overall, a lot of bangs for your buck but a little nervous driving with it until I've got comfortable with the box and the engine has a few more miles. At the moment haven't changed the factory settings at all.

·
Registered
162 Posts
Glad you like it ,agree with your comments,did you remove the engine cover to gain access to cam plug? I to ,am leaving it on factory settings,for the time being,interesting to see what it does on 7,8,.!!!! :)

·
Registered
537 Posts
Good info guys
I wonder what the point is having so many settings, and you are also saying you can adjust for less power than standard from factory?????
If i recall was it 9 setting on this TMC box, seems a lot

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes there are quite few setting, not really sure why so many. I have left on the preset six which I guess is the one which gives the best balance between performance and reliability. There is a note that the higher settings may kick the car into safe mode. Would be interesting to get a bit more from TMC about the settings such as why so many and why preset to 6?

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·