Audi A1 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I didn't give it much thought when ordering my A1 last November, but now l have been driving around for the best part of a month, l have been thinking should l have ordered a spare wheel instead of foam. I know l can get slim version for about £180 ish. Can't quite remember how much l was quoted now.
So, l would be interested to hear your thoughts on spare wheel Vs foam. I have changed a wheel before but never used foam, is it easier ? What are the pros and cons if any or am l just shy trying something new!!!

Cheers
H

·
Premium Member
873 Posts
I've been driving now for 8 years and never had a punture that was bad enough I couldn't drive it to the garage...so I decided to save my money and go with the foam....Audi offer me breakdown cover anyway

The big con with the foam is once its been used in the tyre it can't be repaired i.e. brand new tyre even if the punchure was small.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Right, thanks... I did wonder if the wheel would be useable after it had foam in it! l guess not sounds wastefull. Speaking of waste....
There seems to be a lot of wasted space under the boot floor. Am l right in thinking you need it to give the battery this space. Off down to Devon soon and was hoping to use some of it up with packing the kitchen sink etc!!

·
Premium Member
873 Posts
Theres two heights you can set the floor to. One is the usual position the other requires sliding the floor until it falls below the bracket holding it in place. Gives u an extra 3-5 inchs more room

Should be ok to use that extra space though I would use the boot floor or a cloth as the kitchen sink is metal Just incase it could short circuit (unlikely but let's be safe) :p

·
Registered
445 Posts