Audi A1 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, so I ordered the chip Express part on Monday am, it arrived at 10 today ( Tuesday ) read in instructions and then went out to the car to fit. Can I just say I am not technically minded or in any way a motor engineer!

1. Removed the engine cover ( just pops off )
2. Popped out the sensor plug on the end of the rail sensor ( pull clip back and it pulls off )
3. Clipped on the tuning cable to end of rail sensor and the Audi one taken out into a split cable slot ( see pic )
4. Clip on Chip Express box to end of split cable
3. Pop tuning box ( size of a pack of cards ) into the water resistant felt bag and Velcro to car ( see pic )
4. put engine cover back on
5. Start engine and test drive

Results are

I cant believe the difference in torque and BHP, the car pulls with no throttle delay and keeps pulling, I have not tested yet but I would guess its knocked 2 seconds on 0-60 figs and much quicker in all gears.

The unit comes set up for max mpg ( they recon it gives more mpg than standard set up ) but you can move the unit for + or -

I have been told that I should run the car for a few hundred miles while it re tunes itself, I can then move the BHP up to 140 plus but I think this would hinder the mpg a little, its currently set at about 132bhp

For £395 I feel this was money well spent and the car now seems much livelier and pulls better in all gears at all rpm

Some pics are here plus some pics of the inside of the car which others asked me to post, final point, really happy with the A1 S line, it's a great daily car which I am using in conjunction with my R8 Spyder, I feel I am doing my bit for the enviro!!
Pics here; gallery/album.php?album_id=23

·
Registered
68 Posts
This is definitely something that I am looking into! will let my bank balance recover a bit first though...